Texas defender lights up defenseless receiver and somehow wasn't called for targeting

The targeting rule in college football is one of the worst enforced ones in the game. Hits that seem harmless get flagged for targeting while others that seem pretty egregious get nothing. This hit from a Texas player on a seemingly defenseless Oklahoma State receiver falls under the latter category:

The targeting rule in college football is one of the worst enforced ones in the game. Hits that seem harmless get flagged for targeting while others that seem pretty egregious get nothing. This hit from a Texas player on a seemingly defenseless Oklahoma State receiver falls under the latter category:

RELATED: Unlike Pac-12, Big Ten is admitting they got a targeting call wrong

That seems like the Longhorn player totally led with his head and launched himself at a receiver who could not defend against any sort of hit. However, since the receiver was wrapped up he is not considered defenseless despite the fact that seems to be the definition of defenseless. This is the kind of hit that needs to result in a penalty or at least some sort of suspension after the game. Fortunately, it is not affecting the outcome of this game as the Cowboys are winning 43-25 in the third quarter.

You Might Also Like

Big 12

Texas player lights up Notre Dame receiver on nasty hit and somehow doesn't get ejected for targeting

By

Big 12

Oklahoma loses top playmaker after devastating hit by Oklahoma State

By

Big 12

Texas coach gets leveled by his own team while celebrating a touchdown

By

Big 12

Texas could have had a win-win with Tom Herman buyout, totally blows it

By

ncG1vNJzZmiekaOvtsbZZ5qopV%2BYvK24xKCcZp6fpMGjrculZpuhl2J%2Bc3vTnq%2Baq12ZsqexzZ2cq2WcnrSpwNJmrKlllJqzprrSnqOeq6Niv6avxKKtnqpdlruledKopJ6gn6x6uK3Sp6tmm5GhuaawjJ%2Bmq2Wklr%2BosdOipaBn

 Share!